Skip to main content

Fowles, John, 1926-2005



  • Existence: 1926-03-31 - 2005-11-05

English novelist, critically positioned between modernism and postmodernism.

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

John Fowles papers, approximately 1960s-1970s

Identifier: 1977-005
Scope and Contents Consists of 33 autograph, typescript and carbon copy typescript letters and one typescript postcard primarily between John Fowles, Herbert van Thal, and Gillon Aitken, and date from 1963-1978. Also included among the papers are the typescript and carbon copy typescript drafts of The French Lieutenant's Woman; gallery posters, black/white and color stills, and press release kits for the film adaptations of The Collector, The French Lieutenant's Woman, and The Magus; 35mm film trailer from the...
Dates: circa 1960s-1970s

La Mitresse du Lieutenant Francais (The French Lieutenant's Woman), 1981

 Item — map-case: 5, drawer: 10
Identifier: 1500.030.mitressedulieutenantfrancais.5.10
Scope and Contents 1 poster for La Maitresse du Lieutenant Francais, the French release of The French Lieutenant's Woman.
Based on the novel by John Fowles. Starring Meryl Streep, Jeremy Irons, and Hilton McRae. Produced by Leon Clore; directed Karl Reisz; music by Carl Davis. United Artists.
Dates: 1981

The Collector, 1965

Identifier: 1500.030.thecollector
Scope and Contents Four full-color posters in English and three full-color posters in French for the motion picture The Collector.
Starring Terence Stamp, Samantha Eggar, Mona Washbourne; directed by William Wyler; screenplay by Stanley Mann and John Kohn; music by Maurice Jarre. From the novel The Collector by John Fowles.
Dates: 1965

The Magus, 1968

Identifier: 1500.030.5.10
Scope and Contents John Fowles's The Magus Plays a Vicious Game. The Game is Love. The Game is Lust. The Game is Life Itself. Or Is It Death?
Starring Michael Caine, Anthony Quinn, Candice Bergen, and Anna Karina.
Kohn-Kinberg production; directed by Guy Green; screenplay by John Fowles.
20th Century-Fox Film Corp.
Dates: 1968